Extras

“& I heard ’em say…”

“…nothing’s ever promised tomorrow today…”

But I chose not to listen. I closed my ears and eyes to the reality & swallowed the bitter truth.
Instead I settled for the “I love you’s” “I really do’s” for the “In a matter of time, it’ll be you’s”.
Content with the mediocre love that I still don’t quite understand…

“So I guess we just pray like the minister say…”

I asked for clarity of the confusion that engulfed my life. Maybe He didn’t hear me. Maybe I was praying with a selfish heart…forgive me…God. But I can’t promise it won’t happen again tomorrow, today.

“They say people in your life are seasons & anything that happens is for a reason…”

How many seasons must pass before someone is here for the right reason?
I’m just saying, it’s not so easy, living this way…on a wish & a prayer, hoping for better things. I can’t take it. I’ve been here one too many times. Hoping for forever, only living in goodbyes…

“With every worthless word we get more far away…”

And now, I can’t see you…I’m not even certain it was really you I was seeing.. So many jumbled up words, conjured out of the “feelings”
That I still can’t quite believe were there.
The force of your lies created a gap so wide, I’d have to take a few plane rides just to see the familiarity of your features once again.
Don’t worry, though..that’s a trip I don’t plan to take.

“& I heard ’em say, nothing’s ever promised tomorrow, today…”

But I chose not to listen…I closed my ears and eyes to the reality & swallowed the bitter truth.
Look at where it got me…now I can’t recognize myself or you…
Regret isn’t a factor, I’ll just remember the mistakes I made…

Next time, I’ll open my ears & listen a little longer,
Next time I’ll hear ’em say…

“Nothing lasts forever…it hurts but it might be the only way…”

Leave a Reply

