love

Just Friends

“Maybe we should just be friends”

Tasted as bitter on the tip of my tongue

As I can imagine it did for every lover

That spit those words out at me

After my heart was already bleeding in the palm

Of their hand and they tried, unsuccessfully,

to place it back inside my chest.

 

“Maybe we should just be friends”

Reversed itself and trailed down my throat

With an unforgiving sting as strong as whiskey

Fighting to come up to be released

Just to land in the pit of my stomach with a

Less than pleasurable burn.

 

“Maybe we should just be friends”

A flower bulb of a thought

Nestled deep inside me.

One I can only hope

Will never bloom.

 

Leave a Reply

