Lessons · love

What’s She Worth?

It is difficult to answer a question of worth when it comes to something with no monetary value. A person could easily tell you the worth of a car or a gold coin or an aged baseball card. But what kind of answer would you get if you asked someone how much love was worth? How about if you asked what one would give to see their lover happy? Most people will give dramatic answers: It means the world to me, I’d give up everything I own just to see her smile, I’d give my life if it meant she could keep her own! The list goes on and on…and on.

But how do we really view the worth of our lovers? Is it able to be seen at all?

Words are so easy to use, often slipping from our lips with no warning. But acting upon those expressions is an entirely different ball game. You can tell someone you love them a million times in a day. But if your actions show something different, your words are completely null and void. It is easy to tell someone that they mean everything to you & that they are worth more than gold. But at the end of the day, what are they really worth to you? Have you shown someone that their heart is more precious than gold? Have you shown someone that their laughter, peace, happiness and satisfaction mean more to you than any price tag could ever convey? Is a lover’s worth even something that should be able to be measured?

I can’t answer those questions for you. Hell, I haven’t even been able to answer them all for myself. But what I can say, from the bottom of my heart, is that I’m tired of my own worth being measured in teaspoons.

Something has got to give.

3 thoughts on “What’s She Worth?

  1. Ask the touch questions, ma’am! It’s so hard to appraise what someone else’s happiness is worth in your life and people pretend like it’s not important, until it is. This is def a question to ask someone (and yourself) before you get into a relationship.

Leave a Reply

